Storey County Courthouse
The Storey County Courthouse was built in the high Italianate style that embodies 19th-century ideals of decorative opulence as well as law and order. The first county courthouse was destroyed in the Great Fire of October 1875. Reconstruction began in 1876 and the present building, designed by the San Francisco architectural firm of Kenitzer and Raun and built by contractor Peter Burke, was completed in February 1877. The total cost of construction, including fixtures and the jail, was $117,000, a remarkable sum even for the Comstock boom years. A life-sized figure of Justice stands as sentry at the entrance, but she is not blindfolded, a rare occurrence in our national symbology. The façade of the building was decorated with elaborate ironwork, painted contrasting colors, and a pediment that included the date of construction, 1876, also the national centennial.
buildingstructurearchitectureStorey Countypicturefacadehigh Italianate stylewindowsdoorsentranceB StreetVirginia CityweatheredoldartsyartisticlawhistoryhistoricalAmericanaPiper's Opera Housetourismdestinationfamousgold silver miningdesertfoxphoto, from