Photographed June 11, 2009
OLD ST. LOUIS COUNTY COURTHOUSE, THE GATEWAY ARCH, "OLYMPIC RUNNER" STATUE, and KIENER PLAZA FOUNTAIN
*Pink dyed water in support of the Komen St. Louis Race for the Cure (breast cancer).*
Old St. Louis County Courthouse - Experience a significant part of U.S. history during a visit to the Old Courthouse, built between 1839 and 1862. The Courthouse is the site where an enslaved husband and wife, Dred and Harriet Scott, sued for their freedom, and Virginia Minor sued for a woman’s right to vote in 1872. Embrace history in restored courtrooms and view exhibits and murals depicting historic events. Special exhibits change on a regular basis, so there’s always something new to discover at the Old Courthouse, which is a two-block walk from the Gateway Arch.
The Gateway Arch - The nation’s tallest monument at 630 feet, the Gateway Arch has beckoned visitors for more than 40 years with its iconic, awe-inspiring shape. The vision of renowned architect Eero Saarinen, the Gateway Arch commemorates Thomas Jefferson and St. Louis’ role in the westward expansion of the United States. A visit to St. Louis isn’t complete without standing at its base and playing professional photographer, and the view from the outside is only half of the experience. Attractions within the Arch are the Journey to the Top, the Museum of Westward Expansion, educational programs, two movies and shopping.
"Olympic Runner" Statue by William Zorach - Figure of a nude male runner set in a pool. His proper left leg is propped up on a wavelike form. He wears a beaded necklace and has a cloth draped around his hips. Bequest of Harry J. Kiener (1881-1960), a St. Louis native, steel company executive, and lifelong athlete who had been an Olympic high-hurdler in the 1904 Olympics held in St. Louis. Kiener's bequest of $200,000 paid for the entire area where the figure and fountain are located. Eugene J. Mackey, Jr. designed the fountain. IAS files contain copies from an unpublished 1969 mayor's report, "Public Art - St. Louis;" and George McCue's "Sculpture City: St. Louis," New York: Hudson Hills Press, 1988, pg. 118, 120. ~ Reprinted text from here: http://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WMBXY8_Olympic_Runner_St_Louis_MO
Kiener Plaza (downtown) - Named in honor of Kiener who was born in St. Louis on February 27, 1881. He was an amateur boxer, wrestler and swimmer, but he is most noted for his position on the U.S. track team at the Olympics held in St. Louis in 1904 during the World's Fair. Harry J. Kiener died in 1960 at the age of 80. ~Reprinted text from here: http://stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/parks/parks/view-park.cfm?parkID=50&parkName=Kiener%20Plaza
St. Louis, MO
031portfoliobest photographybest photosfavorite photosgreat picturesbest picturesSt. LouisSt. Louis monellyrapper Buschclydesdaleshorsesbusch stadiumunion stationblueberry hillSix flagscity museumBreast Cancer AwarenessOctoberBreast CancerFight Like a GirlRace for the CureNational Breast Cancer MonthThink PinkGod'sChild, from